Home | Who We Are | Davis Award

Davis Award

The Richard Marden Davis Award

Presented annually to a Denver attorney under 40, the Richard Marden Davis Award recognizes a combination of legal excellence and civic, cultural, educational, and charitable leadership. It is presented in partnership with the Denver Bar Association and the Davis Family.

Dick Davis was not only a skilled and charismatic lawyer; he also carved out ample time for community service. He served as president of the Denver Bar Association in 1959 and he played key leadership roles in the Colorado Public Expenditures Council, Museum of Natural History, Colorado Association of Commerce and Industry, Denver Rotary Club, Denver Art Museum, and other organizations. The award was created in memory of Dick Davis, not only to recognize successful and committed young lawyers but also to inspire other young attorneys to follow in his footsteps.

RECIPIENTSPrevious Davis Award Recipients

The inaugural Davis Award was presented in 1993 to then–Judge Celeste Quinones. Every subsequent year, the award has been presented to a young attorney with an outstanding record of professional and community service. Previous recipients have upheld the tradition of leadership that the award represents. The list includes judges, governors, public prosecutors, general counsel, and private practitioners.

2023Noah Patterson

Colorado Attorney General’s Office

2022John T. Lee

Senior Assistant Attorney General, Colorado Attorney General’s Office

2021Jason St. Julien

Lead Counsel of Community Trust, Airbnb, Inc.

2020Richard Murray

Shareholder, Polsinelli PC

2019Theresa Benz

Partner, Davis Graham & Stubbs LLP

2018Hetal J. Doshi

Deputy Assistant Attorney General, U.S. Department of Justice, Antitrust Division

2017Stephanie Donner

CEO, Chief Legal & People Officer, Inspire Clean Energy, LLC

2018Cristal Torres DeHerrera

Executive Vice President and Chief of Staff, Denver International Airport

2015Qusair Mohamedbhai

Partner, Rathod Mohamedbhai LLC

2014Denise Hoffman White

Managing Partner, Hoffman Nies Dave LLP

2013Shannon Stevenson

Colorado Solicitor General, Colorado Attorney General’s Office

2012Franz Hardy

Partner, Gordon & Rees LLP

2011Stacy Carpenter

Shareholder, Polsinelli PC

2010Mark Clouatre

Partner, Nelson Mullins

2009Monica M. Marquez

Justice, Colorado Supreme Court

2008Mari Newman

Founding Member, Newman McNulty, LLC

2007Michael Carrigan

Partner, Holland & Hart LLP

2006Kristin Bronson

Executive Director, Colorado Lawyers Committee 

2005Kenzo S. Kawanabe

Partner, Olson Grimsley Kawanabe Hinchcliff & Murray LLC

2004Tim Macdonald

Legal Director, ACLU of Colorado

2003Todd Fredrickson

Partner, Fisher & Phillips LLP

2002Chris Little


2001Richard Gabriel

Justice, Colorado Supreme Court 

2000Gilbert Roman

Chief Judge, Colorado Court of Appeals

1999Paul Chan

General Counsel, University of Maine System

1998Natalie Hanlon-Leh

Chief Deputy Attorney General, Colorado 

1997David Powell

Partner, Garnett Powell Maximon Barlow

1996Allan Hale

Of Counsel, Kelly Law Partners, LLC

1995Kathleen Odle

Senior Counsel, Sherman & Howard LLC 

1994A. William “Bill” Ritter, Jr.

Former Colorado Governor 

1993Celeste Quinones

Former Judge, City and County of Denver

Ready to Help

Connect with us to learn more about how we can help you reach your goals.